makeup

My quick face routine

Hi guys, I thought I would start by talking about my face routine, which is going to be centered on foundation mostly. I’ll talk about my acne in a dedicated post.

Lately I haven’t been really wanting to “cake” my face, if that makes sense. If I want to go do some groceries or something like that, I just want to conceal my acne scars and even my tone, without putting tons of products on my face. And it’s just more practical, that way I can get ready in 15 minutes, instead of spending I dunno an hour to do a full face of makeup.
So after I cleaned and moisturized my face, I just go in with my concealer, to hide my dark circles and acne scars, and the occasional pimples on my face. I just use a drugstore concealer, the one I use mostly is the Bell one, and I just bought this camouflage cream from Essence, so I’m currently testing it out.

It’s very affordable makeup as you can prolly tell. Then I usually go on with a powder to set the concealer, and just even my tone. The powder I’m using right now is also from Essense, it’s the mattifying powder in the shade light beige.

Essence products are great and dirt cheap although they might be a bit hard to find. Along with their sister brand Catrice they are some of my favourite brands at the drugstore, and very affordable too. They would give a run for their money to more pricey drugstore brands like Maybelline and L’Oreal.

I may put on some blush, some of my favorite blushes are from Catrice with their defining blush line. But I’m also loving the Essence All in one bronzing highlighter, in the shade Brunette (darker skin).

As the name suggests it is a all in one palette, with a bronzer, blush and highlighter. The bronzer is a bit shimmery, but it’s barely visible on the skin and I just think it gives a very natural finish, and with spring here I’m definitely digging the natural vibe as a whole, and going for peach/coral colors.

I may put some eyeshadow on my lids, usually one that is that is similar to my skin color.For that I find that the shade Cappucino from the Sleek Au naturel palette works best for me. It does give a nice wash of color while still looking pretty natural for my skin tone which is fair/light with a yellow undertone.The Au naturel palette is as the name suggests all about that natural look, although you can still smoke it out with some of the darker shades. It’s just better to prime your eyelids though since the colors can fade quite quickly, at least on me.

I may skip using mascara,even though I just bought a new one, the Lash Princess volume mascara from Essence (again). But I can’t go out without doing my eyebrows. My brows are already full, but they get quite messy, so I always have to set them with something. Currently I’m reaching for two products, the brow liner from Yves Rocher and the Wet n Wild brow kit. In both cases I still have to go with the wax so my brows won’t become a mess.

And finally I just add some very light touch of color to the lips, either a nude lipstick like some of the Megalast line from Wet n Wild , or just put on the Cherry lip balm from Yves Rocher, and I’m good to go.

Oh and to just make things less powdery setting your face with a setting spray is a good idea. It also makes your makeup last longer. A really cheap one at the drugstore that I’m using is the Elf makeup mist and set, the mister isn’t great so you have to really apply it far from your face, but it does feel like it makes my makeup last longer, while also making everything just look better.

So that’s it, you don’t have to do a full face on an everyday basis imo, and this routine has really helped me just get out from home faster, especially if I’m on a hurry.

Leave a Reply

